Dyson retains singles title with narrow final victory



The Huddersfield Table Tennis Centre played host to this year’s Closed Championships on Sunday in what proved to be a very entertaining and competitive event.

In the showcase match, Tim Dyson retained his Singles title in an entertaining final by beating Jonathan Heslop to claim his 14th success in this event. In reaching the final, Dyson and Heslop had comparatively easier tasks in beating Shaun Ellis and Darren Lindley respectively in the semi finals. The final proved to be a hard fought affair with lots of winning forehand and backhand shots during an excellent high standard match. Dyson looked in command as he won the first two games before Heslop responded by winning the next two. Going into the final game Dyson soon established a 10-6 lead. Young Heslop would not give in so easily and won the next three points to give him a chance at 9-10 down before Dyson’s unstoppable winning hit gave him the title.

Heslop did gain some consolation as he and his Deighton playing partner, Cameron Sandhu, beat regular finalists Dyson and Russell Senior in the doubles final. The Deighton youngsters looked down and out after losing the first two games 11-2 but recovered to win the remaining three games. The match was a total contrast to the singles final as most points were won by opponent’s mistakes rather than winning shots.

Dyson also had success in the Over 40’s singles final by reversing last year’s result over Lindley. In a see-saw match Dyson soon got into his stride winning the first game before Lindley gained the advantage by winning the next two games. Dyson levelled the match at 2-2. The turning point occurred at the end of the fifth game with Lindley leading 12-11 and just needing to win his serve for the match. He unfortunately served off the table to level the scores and Dyson eventually won the game 15-13.

In the Over 60’s competition, Keith Skarz knocked out the holder of this title for the past eight years at the semi final stage, before beating Neil Crosland in the final.

This year saw the reintroduction of a Women’s singles event, won by Janet Adams.
It is hoped that in future years more entries will be encouraged to have some sort of round robin handicap format competition.

The Junior and Banded singles winners were dominated by Deighton players. Under 21 singles, Band 1 singles, Band 2 singles and Band 3 singles were won by Jonathan Heslop, Cameron Sandhu, Paul Simpson and Kamran Amin respectively.

Many thanks to the people involved in making this event a success, including players who were ‘encouraged’ to act as a scorer when not involved in a match themselves.